Hello all! I think I’m just gonna talk freely about my life and feelings, and what’s been going on and whatever I want! It’s easier to get the post written that way, instead of trying too hard to have a purpose or story or objective besides just kind of a journal.
So I guess I’ll start with today (at the time of starting writing this blog post! I just finished my salsa lesson with Hiro Taku Dance Company. It’s Monday, so it’s the open lesson that all of the different levels of students currently taking lessons with HTDC, beginner to master, are welcome to come to. Also, new people can come do a trial lesson if they want. If that’s the case, it’s usually a beginner on 1 salsa lesson. Today there was no trial student, and besides me, only 2 students from the upper level came, so we worked on their dance for the Yes We Dance event (more about that later). I’m in the advanced class, so I don’t know this dance, and I got to learn it, so today was really fun! I seriously love these lessons. The teachers are amazing, all the other dancers are too, and I’m making lots of friends. I’m in love with salsa and bachata in general, anyway and never want to stop! Like, I could keep dancing after the lessons for hours, and 3 hour long social dances aren't enough!
Soooo, about Yes We Dance. It's an event, the biggest event hosted by HTDC every year. Aaaaaand it's on a Saturday (always a workday at my job). But not just any Saturday, but the first Saturday of the new school year, where I could be meeting students and parents for the first time. My schedule at this time is not yet decided, so I'm not sure if they are actual first time tiny baby students who need to meet their new teacher right away or older students who are cool if their teacher is not there the first week, or even if they are the same exact line of classes I currently have on Saturdays. So, I talked to my best friend who also works with me (and does salsa at the same place but he is on hiatus right now). He said there is a chance that I could maaaaaybe get the afternoon older student classes subbed. At the time we talked, my tentative Saturday schedule was kind of far away with a latish end, but doable if I miss a few classes. That has changed now into a 6pm ending day that's way closer, and only one class need be missed!! But, it could change again...
For Yes We Dance, from 9:30 am we have to be there for rehearsal and what-not. The performances from the company (where I would be onstage) start from 6:45 pm. If my tentative schedule remains as it is, I could miss only my last class, which is 1 student, who is like 12 or 13 years old and finish at 4:50. I haven't asked yet, because I wanna ask in person, and am kind of scared the answer will be no, but I think I can get it!
And then the other big hurdle that was keeping me from even thinking I had a chance to seriously consider going onstage for this event was money. First of all, husband is in between jobs. He actually just got hired for a really nice thing, but, at the current moment, he hasn't started yet, so money is really tight right now. Then, the company I'm taking dance lessons from isn't cheap. Like, with the amount of lessons a week, and the amazing community, and how the teachers have really leveled up my dancing skills already after only about a month, it's sooooo worth it! And the first 4 months when you first start, there is a nice discount. And then on top of that, they let me split the payment in half instead of all upfront, for which I am super grateful, because even starting these lessons I thought was not gonna be possible for me. I had been just going to their bi-weekly socials and a few other social dances around Tokyo, but these ones with HTDC, the teachers, the community, and the vibe is my favorite!
For Yes We Dance, we have this thing called a norma, I'm not sure what that is or if it even exists in English, but basically we have to buy a bunch of tickets and sell them which is like A LOT of money. In class, when they were explaining all the ticket selling options and stuff, I was lost. My Japanese understanding level is quite good, but this was all new territory for me. Basically, the cheapest option would be me paying ¥29800 (like $300 not including the costume, I believe?). But I want to do this. More than anything, I want to dance, I wanna be a part of this!!! I want to dance on-stage with everyone in Yes We Dance. I'm not even thinking of stage fright, because I just wanna dance, I wanna perform these routines we're learning, and I'm surprising myself. I have EXTREME stage fright, I've done so many dance shows onstage my whole life and always wished to skip the whole performance part. I actually want to do this. I want to be on that stage with these dancers so bad!! I don't think I've wanted anything in my life so much, except for when I decided I wanted to move to Japan.
Even if I couldn't be ON the stage though, I want to go and watch or support, at the very least, but work-wise is still a maybe. I took photos at their first event I went to on Halloween that my best friend was performing in, and they really liked my photography, which made me super happy! So, I was thinking it would be cool if I can at least get permission to be a photographer for the event, even if I have to show up a bit late for it. So, after the Monday lesson (that I started this blog talking about) I decided (kind of spur of the moment at the end right as dancers were trickling out to go home) to ask them that if I can't perform, (they already know my 2 big dilemmas of work and money) I'd at least like to have permission to be a photographer for the part of it that I can come to. I felt instantly stupid after asking, and my Japanese was not as smooth as usual because I felt weirdly nervous and sad, when I'm usually bright, happy, and confident talking with them. I also didn't fully think about how or what I was even asking, it just kinda took over my head and I felt like I couldn't go without saying something. He said, after a little pause, もちろん! Of course I can take photos! But as I left, I felt really sad. I couldn't figure out why right away, I always feel so happy after dancing, like literally I can't stop smiling as I walk home. I realized that what I had asked had meant that I truly accepted the fact that I had to give up on performing in Yes We Dance, and like that was me telling them that, and it made it real that I won't be able to do it. I felt like crying as I walked to the train station, and I was confused as to why I felt so strongly.
The next day, Tuesday, I took on an extra work thing on Tuesdays that goes until 7, then I went to the closing ceremony party for the Midsummer Night's Dream cast members! It was fun, but I felt slightly lonely? Like, sometimes, I could just have not been there and and no one would miss me, but then sometimes I had really good connections and had fun. I love them, they are amazing people, but they have their own long history together, and I am a newcomer, and on top of that, I can't completely, fully join in on their conversations in Japanese. They all can speak varying levels of English and try to as much as they can, but sometimes the conversations fly away, I don't want to try and interrupt and slow them down, so I'm left behind and get stuck in my own mind sometimes.

I got home kind of late and drunk. It was at a nearby Chinese restaurant that we were regular customers of and hadn't been in a while since the show had ended. I usually can't drink so much there, because I don't like Chinese alcohol, so I stick to oolong hi's that aren't strong enough for me XD I decided to have shochu on the rocks, because I knew husband, who doesn't drink so much usually, would probably drink a lot here because he likes Chinese alcohol and drinking and talking with these fun cast members. Anyway, then, I checked my Line messages, and I got one from HTDC. They said that they knew it would be difficult for me to perform in Yes We Dance, but they WANT me to. Me, specifically me, they WANT me to perform!?! And, they thought about it enough to message me the next day, after my awkward weirdness, AND in English, which neither of the teachers can really speak! They said that I can be a photographer for the event, except for during my performance, and that if I'm photographer, I can pay ¥10000 ($100) less to perform!!! I read it, and I actually cried. Like, real tears of happiness. They want me to perform, they are helping me make it possible! They want me to be there. They want me to dance!
I didn't know what to say, so I thought about it and responded the next morning. I told him I was so happy that I cried in both Japanese and English, and I explained about my schedule at work and how it could change in more detail all in English, so I know I'll be clear. I explained that I need to talk to my work people next week and my possible ending time and classes I could try to get off. He said it was funny that I said I was so happy that I cried XD But, it's true, I did, and I wanted it to be known how happy this made me! Then, he said it would be ok if I miss the rehearsal the morning/afternoon and can at least make it to the performance.
So now, I need be strict with money! I need to talk with my work to miss one class (if my schedule doesn't change). I need to practice the dances! I need to work out and be healthy. I've got my plan. I am going to perform in Yes We Dance, because I said so!!