Hey guys!
A lot has been happening lately! This time of year is when everything happens all at once, and then this year I've got my salsa on top of it all.
My work has its presentation days coming up during February and March. And, if you are like me and insane, but also passionate about your job, you also agreed to direct one of the mini production students' plays for the second year in a row, which is A LOT of extra work, but also super fun and rewarding. The students had their presentation last Sunday and they were AMAZING, and I actually almost cried at one point because I was so proud of how well they did. Plus, all of my coworkers for the production department of my job are THE BEST. But, I AM TIRED.
Anyway, that was on a Sunday which meant I missed salsa which was also super sad. Sundays are when I have all 3 of the dance classes I'm performing in for Yes We Dance, so I reallllly don't like missing Sundays.
Fast forward to Wednesday, I had salsa and bachata class after work, then after that, the teachers and me along with one of the other students decided to get a drink together, which was super fun! I have drank with them before but it was always at our social dances, which meant that I was too busy dancing to really drink or talk so much, so it was really nice to get a chance to just laugh, talk, and drink together. Then, the girl who was waiting on us (and also the store manager I believe) heard us talking about salsa and said she used to dance! She decided to come to the upcoming Monday open lesson and social, and then she ended up joining the class!
Monday's Club J (HTDC salsa social) was so fun! Of all the different social dances I've been to around Tokyo, the Club J ones with Hiro and Taku are my favorite. I know almost everyone there usually, because it's mostly HTDC people and their friends, they are all good dancers and cool people, we can bring our own food and drinks, and it's a good blend of salsa and bachata music. I always feel safe, happy, and comfortable. I even made Valentine's Day chocolate to share with everyone!
I actually successfully danced on 2 salsa with Taku! I asked him to dance, and he was like let's try on 2. It felt good that I was able to switch to on 2 so easily =D I also had been wanting to ask Hiro to dance, and I finally did (twice) and she is an amazing lead! I love everyone here, it was a blast! I wish this was every week, this is seriously my happy place and the highlight of my week.
We also did the salsa dance circle thingy again, which I now know is called rueda de casino, or some variation of those words... Anyway, I wasn't super confused like I was the last time (also my first time)! I was dancing with Taku, and he was kind of looking around the dance floor, and I was wondering why, then he yelled "dame!" which is the change partners thing for the circle dance and I was like, ok, I think I got this! XD It's funny because in Japanese the word 'dame' can mean like something along the lines of 'nope, I can't deal with this anymore', or like 'don't do that', and then that's when we change partners for this dance XD Anyway, I also got my dance with Taku that I asked for after that XD
I'm so lucky to have these people and dancing in my life