Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Thoughts on Life and Dance

 I want to write a blog but I don’t know what to say…

I think I’ll just start, and the words will come! I suppose I’ll write a bit of a diary then.


It’s Monday, my day off, and I’m currently riding the Ueno-Tokyo line to some beach. Somewhere between Enoshima and Chigasaki, I’ll decided when I feel like getting off the train. I’m listening to my ridiculously long bachata and salsa playlist I made on Apple Music. I’m currently obsessed with the Japanese salsa music by Chica Boom! It’s so interesting to listen salsa music, but with cute Japanese singing 😁 Plus, I can actually understand singing in Japanese, unlike Spanish. 


This week I felt kind of sad because I haven’t had HTDC salsa lessons. The teachers are on a trip, so lessons were on hiatus this week. It’s not like I didn’t dance at all this week, of course I did! Otherwise I might go insane 😂 I went to a few events, some with my HTDC salsa friends, and at some I met other dance acquaintances that I've been getting to know in the Tokyo Latin dance community. I practiced dancing at home on the days I didn’t go out, and even have been teaching husband how to lead a little bit (and he is actually trying and not completely hating it! 😆) But, after having lessons with and seeing Hiro and Taku 3-4 times a week for almost every week since December, I actually really miss them a lot! Not just their lessons, but I miss them as people. Seeing their faces, and talking, and hanging out, and laughing, and drinking together, everything! 


 I invited the Nakano on 2 salsa people to HTDC's Club J event, and they've been coming almost every week since then! It's kind of cool that I was able to bring my 2 main salsa happy places in Tokyo together, and they have linked history in the salsa community as they've all been dancing for so long! 


Work has been…tiring and a little frustrating lately, I guess. I love my job itself and like 95% of the people I work with, but some things have been getting to me lately, that I won’t and shouldn’t go into detail about here. A lot of little things are and have been piling up into a big thing, basically.


Anyway, tonight I plan to go to a bachata event. I’ve tried a few different bachata things lately because I want to improve my bachata more. I’m pretty confident with salsa on 1 and 2. Especially on 2 because lately it’s been popping up a lot more at socials around Tokyo, so I’ve been able to practice it a lot and finally feel confident that when a lead asks me “on 1 or 2?” I can easily say whichever is fine! But bachata, there are so many different types and it varies a lot depending on the person that you're dancing with, and connecting with your partner is really important especially for sensual bachata, which is what most people are dancing around here lately. Once you’ve got salsa on 1 and 2 up to a good level, you can follow well enough even when new moves get thrown your way. But with sensual bachata, sometimes new moves thrown at you end up...awkward 😆 At least when I am the follow. 


I also want to get better at salsa shines. Shines are when you're dancing but NOT with your partner. Basically your partner separates from you briefly and you can dance freely, but if I don't have a lead, I literally forget how to do anything except for basic steps and turns, and sometimes panicking. (lol, Panic! at the...Salsa Dance? 😂) I don’t like when shine happens during social dance because even if I’m good at doing a shine, I forget literally every single one I know, except for one of the ones we did in one of the Yes!! We Dance routines, and the Charleston swing dancey one we learned in the ex class recently 😆 But, I think that practicing shines will make me an all around better dancer, so I'll try my best!


Oh, that’s another thing! Currently I’m taking all the levels of salsa and bachata lessons with Hiro and Taku (except not the master class…....yet! 😉) The ex class has been mixed with the advanced class, and the advanced class has been leveled up a bit because there aren’t enough experienced leads for ex to be its own thing currently. For the beginner/upper/easier part of the advanced class, I’m learning how to lead, along with my friend Alisa! 😁 We are learning choreography (for what event has not yet been decided, maybe Halloween?) and me and Alisa are going to perform as leads! I really think learning how to lead is great to help improve as a follow, and vice-versa. It’s quite a challenge though! There’s more pressure on the lead when it comes to remembering choreography. It’s really fun though!