Wednesday, November 16, 2022

Weekend of Dancing and a Fancy Hilton Sushi Lunch

 My legs and abs are sooooore, but I'm happy. I've lost 2 kilos since getting so much into dance recently, and my whole weekend was spent dancing! 

It started off with Midsummer rehearsal. We had an extra long rehearsal day, so I already knew couldn't make the weekly swing dance event I usually go to. The fairies didn't have too much to work on, so I requested that we work on the dance a lot, because I am majorly sucking at it, even though I've been doing so much (totally different genre) dancing lately. I don't have a lot of space to practice at home, and watching the videos of the dances doesn't help me very much, and I wanted to practice as a group. We did it so many times, and I think I've (maybe) finally got it! 

Then on Sunday night, starting late, as all these latin dance events always tend to, the event that had West Coast swing and bachata in Roppongi last week happened again this week. It's every Sunday at Studio Pepe hosted by Pa' Lante Dance company, but the lessons change. The bachata lesson always happens, and it quickly covers basics for the newbies, then usually a new intermediatish level move after. At least that's how it's been the past 2 times I've been so far. Before the bachata lesson there is another type of dance lesson, and this week was a zouk lesson which I skipped because I have no idea what zouk is or if I wanna try to learn it. I danced LOTS and it was really fun! I met some of the same people from last time, plus some new faces. I have noticed that there are a lot more briefly passing through travelers and new arrivals now that Japan has opened back up.



Then on Monday, me and husband finally used our amazing wedding present from the Moband members! It was a dinner ticket to like a suuuuper fancy place and it covered a $300ish dinner for 2. We ended up choosing this really fancy sushi course thing that was at the Tokyo Hilton hotel. It was DELICIOUS, but these fancy course meals always leave you hungry XD This one gave a decent amount sushi-wise, but we both agreed that we could have easily eaten a whole second platter of the sushi, each.


This was mine, because they asked us at the beginning if we had any food allergies or things we didn't like, which I did, so they accommodated my pickiness

This is the original

Then, red miso soup that was super yummy!

They noticed that husband is left-handed and placed the dessert spoon accordingly for him!

Black sugar ice cream, red bean paste, and mochi



After eating, we went home and cuddled and read together for a bit, then he took a nap while I worked a little on the Midsummer costumes. Then, I went to my second salsa social dance with the HTDC salsa people in Ebisu! I went for the first time on Halloween. It's every other week on Mondays, the social dance, and I'd been super looking forward it! Their first trial lesson is free, and I already knew the basics, so I just went to the social dance this time. After Midsummer is over, I think I want to start taking salsa lessons with them, because they are so good at dancing, teaching, leading, following, and they're just all such cool people! I was talking with Taku, the teacher guy, and right when a new song began, I asked him to dance, and he said he was just about to ask me to dance! We've danced together 3 times in all, but it's funny because always right when I decide to ask him to dance, he asks right before me, but this time, I beat him! The dance teachers always know what they're doing, and the dance will definitely be fun because they know how lo lead well, even if you're a noob like me XD. 

It's always fun to watch and see who you think is a super good dancer, and then don't be intimidated, just ask them to dance! It's how you can learn new stuff, build your confidence dancing, and the best part? Making friends! Like seriously, everyone is super nice and patient if I can't figure out a move that's new for me, and some people even teach me how it goes and then try it again. Many people in the latin dance community can speak English, and are patient with my Japanese either way. 


No comments:

Post a Comment