Now that Yes We Dance is over, our dance lessons have calmed down.
I've moved up from the advanced class into the expert class! 😱 But, I'm also still going to the advanced classes, along with the upper, and bachata classes too. Almost all of the students who performed in the upper class for YWD have moved up into advanced and started bachata too!
Anyway, about the EX class! So far, I feel like it's right at the level where I feel that it's hard, but I'm not in over my head. I'm learning new things, and feel the challenge of it, and have moves I want to improve on. I'm at a similar level to the other students in the class, and super passionate and determined
We are currently doing on 2 salsa, which at first was the BANE of my existence. I'm sooooo glad I got used to the basic steps already! Of course, the EX class is reeeaaaallly quick paced and a lot more difficult and strict, but the fact that I got used to how on 2 works has made it way easier for me. We are learning a lot of new turns, and stepping up from double to triple turns, and more! And, we're learning new shines, which are super hard for me. I like partner dancing more than the shines, but shines are gonna be important for me to learn and become better at if I want to advance even further as an HTDC dancer....which I totally plan to do 😁
Something really fun we started this week was learning the advanced class Yes We Dance routine, but the on 2 version!! I'm not sure if I'm at an advantage or disadvantage as one of 2 students in this class who already learned the on 1 version of this dance 😆 Yuki also performed in the advanced class routine with me (along with EX) in YWD. I thought that at first, it would be hard to switch between 1 and 2, but actually, we're both getting it pretty quickly 😁 There were 3 minutes left in the class this past Thursday, and I mentioned that, when everyone was winding down and taking off their shoes. Yuki half-jokingly asked me to dance, and I seriously was like, uh yeah! Let's dance until we all the time is up! So, we did the on 2 version of the first part of the routine 2 more times in the last 3 minutes of class 😆
In the advanced class, the class has so many people now! All of the upper students moved up, plus almost all of my classmates from before are still there. It's been mostly a review of things I pretty much know, but I didn't get to learn them as detailed because when I started HTDC salsa, it was right as we already started learning the YWD routines, so it's been nice to have the breakdown of these moves in a more chill atmosphere. Actually, something really cool that happened on a Sunday after the lesson was that I got to be Taku's dance partner for the video part at the end of the lesson! Usually Hiro and Taku demonstrate what we learned and let us have this video time to record what they taught us to practice at home, but Hiro had to leave quickly, so I got to be part of it! Actually, I got to do that before, also. I was used for an example to show how to do moves a few times for the upper/beginner class, but I didn't think I'd get to for advanced and bachata!
Well, anyway, that's probably all for now. I'm loving dancing and my job, and then I come home to my loving husband, and I am happy 💕 Life is good!
No comments:
Post a Comment