Thursday, May 11, 2023

Yes!! We Dance 2023

 We did it!! It's done! Yes We Dance 2023 happened and I was a part of it!

I'm feeling so many emotions and don't even know how to put into words how amazing of a day and experience this was for me. 

So, I guess I'll start by going through the day! It was my first day of Saturday classes for the new work school year. I had to get up extra early and do almost my full makeup for the YWD performance in the morning. I packed up my bag with my costumes, makeup, shoes, and camera the night before. 



My first 2 classes are the same class level back-to-back, and all of the students who I was told were a bit difficult ended up leaving the class before the semester started! The first class was supposed to be 10 students, but it went down to 6 sweet girls. The second was only 2 students, but only one came. And my assistant for these 2 classes is really experienced and super nice, helpful, and easy to work with. Actually, all of the people I work with on Saturday are awesome! Then, after those 2 classes, in my schedule there is a writing class but it has 0 students, so I have a long lunch break...which meant finishing touches on makeup, and practicing the shine parts of my dance routines!

My afternoon classes were also all really good kids, and I found out that all the naughty students also left these classes! From 10 rowdy kids to 6 manageable kids. One of the classes has some girls who do dance, so I used stretching as a warm up for the class (and for me XD). Then, I found out that since I'm using the biggest room, and another teacher's class at the end of the day is really big, I actually HAVE to leave my classroom after my last class super quickly, and don't have to worry about cleaning up, so I was out the door at 4:50!

My goal was catching a 5:04 express train, but there was also a 4:56 train...I SPRINTED to the station and I actually got it! Another random bit of luck, as I was about to get off the train, right before the doors opened, my phone strap broke and my phone fell.  If it had broken seconds later, it would have been on the train tracks! 

Shibuya was super crowded, so I wasn't able to make another super early train, but I still caught an earlier train to Toritsu Daigaku station than I would have if I hadn't caught that first earlier express train. I realized about 2 stops away that I had gotten on the wrong end of the train, so I had to get from car 1 to 8. One stop before mine, I got off the train and ran along the platform to get past the people and get to the other side. Actually, my friend Kasumi who was on her way to come see Yes We Dance was on that train, and she thought that I might have made a mistake and gotten off at the wrong stop! She called and messaged me, but I didn't see until I was at the hall XD It was a funny coincidence, and nice that she was ready to help me!

I actually practiced getting to the hall from the station earlier that week so I wouldn't need to check maps or anything, just get off the train and go!  I made it to the hall at 5:44 (audience can enter from 5:45 and my original goal was arrive at about 6, show starting at 6:30).  As soon as I arrived, I found some of my fellow dancers, figured out where the stage was and where I should enter from for each dance, then I grabbed all of my partners and practiced our dance bits and practiced the whole dances in the hallway backstage. At one point, I asked for a red bull, and one of the girls got one for me, and I was soooo thankful, and that specific moment was caught on camera 😆






 Then, it was already go-time! We headed backstage, and one of my 3 dances was the first to go! We all cheered for a video and there were photographers, then we were lining up and the emcee was beginning. I didn't even have much time to be nervous! As soon as my first team was called, "Classically Caliente", I snapped into ready-to-dance mode! I'd never felt that kind of feeling before, I was not dreading going on stage as I usually did, I was ready to put on a show and excited to dance! I did well, but there was one little part where me and my partner messed up the timing but we handled it well, I didn't panic and kept the smile on. It was over so quickly! 












Then, I didn't have time to think, I had to run and change into my next costume for our bachata dance. I was performing in dances number 1, 3, and 5. It was go-time for our team the "Nine Deadly Sins"! I was perfect!  I even got my split back for this dance.  I'm never gonna lose it again! 








Then the last dance was the advanced salsa class, and almost all the same members as bachata. This one was the most challenging dance to learn, but I got so much better at dancing because of it! It also was my favorite out of my 3 dances. And, we nailed it!!!


I'm da leader XD

The only 3 seconds that Benjamin was my partner 🥲

Zawachin, PARTNER we were awesome!!



Look at me spin! This was one of my favorite parts of this dance, and I'm glad Yuki was my partner for it cuz we were PERFECT 💖

And then the walkover, we were the first couple to get it during the lessons, and we were soo ready to show it off 😁

High 5 with Benjamin! I'm so glad this was captured on camera 😃


Then, I was done dancing. It was so fast! I grabbed my camera and then ran to the audience and took on my job as photographer for the rest of the first competition half, and also for the second performance half. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mori who are basically dance legends

Like seriously, they are AMAZING




Beautiful all-girls shine team Egoist












Their facial expressions were on point, and they made me wanna try to learn on 2 salsa more seriously 😍







This was the master class, and I think this song, dance, and costume was my favorite from the first half





Then it was time for the second part, where the teachers, Hiro and Taku, the Egoist all-girls shine group, and the master class dancers performed 4 dances in a row, to music all created by Taku. It was BREATHTAKINGLY awesome!!! They are all amazing dancers and the show was so fun! Like, I'm still in awe that I was sharing the same stage with these people, and that I get to just dance with them normally whenever we have social dances! I really get to dance with these pro-level people, like whenever I want, how lucky am I?? 🥰

The amazing Hiro and Taku!

And Hiro looking right at my camera 🥰




This was pretty magical










This dance was so fun to watch!


Taku apparently sewed this whole sheet thing on his own, and it was worth it cuz look at how cool it looks!! 🌊






















The winner of the competition was announced at the end when we all gathered back on stage.....aaaaand Mr and Mrs. Mori won, and they sooooo deserved it! Actually, they were who I thought would win anyway. 😆 I saw them perform when I first came to an HTDC event for Halloween last year. They were so good! It was also a social dance, and I danced with Mr. Mori before they performed and I had no idea he was like a god-level dancer! Even though it was my first salsa/bachata social dance, he danced with me, was patient, and always smiling.  And, he still does now when we get to dance, but at least I suck less, and I'm not so shy because I know him, and actually can dance more salsa and bachata now! XD 



After the show, we could go out into the lobby and meet everyone who came. A bit of a bittersweet moment was that one of my best friends in the world, Chloe, who came to see me is leaving Japan, and this was the last time I'd get to see her. 

























And then, the audience began trickling out, we took lots more photos together and got to take some flowers, then it was off to the after-party at the same place we had the bonenkai in Nakameguro! We were grouped by team for each table, so I was back and fourth between the advanced/bachata and upper salsa tables. I've hung out with the advanced/bachata squad a lot outside of lessons, and we're all really good friends. But, I hadn't really gotten to hang out with the upper crowd, and when I went over to talk with them for a bit, I felt so loved, everyone was telling me that I make them happy and so many nice things, I wanted to cry. I love you guys! 😭 We made plans to go dancing together!

Then, we went on for round 2 at a bar that the emcee owns, works at, I'm not really sure, I was just following the party! We danced a bit there, then at almost 4 am, I went to Benjamin's place (thank you 🙏💕) to crash.



Then, on Monday night during the time we'd have our usual social dance, we had the video watching party!  Hiro told me that she was glad that they chose me to be in the front for the salsa shine cuz I was so happy and smiley 😁 Ahhhh, to hear these kind of compliments from such an amazing dancer, like, I just can't believe it!

I did it, Yes, We Dance!! is over, and I did well for the first time!  That was my first of many more performances with Hiro and Taku. I have never felt more happy, or accepted, or more like I'm actually talented at something and have potential and motivation to become better at something, until now.

Thank you, so much, from the bottom of my heart, Hiro and Taku, and all of the wonderful beautiful dancers I have met through you 💕


No comments:

Post a Comment